Monthly Focus: De-stressing Life


So I never really thought too much about a theme for my blog for the year of 2013. Today, I realized that I should have monthly themes to focus on so that I don’t feel like I am focusing too much on one thing.

Since January was a very trying month as I gave up meat, I mainly focused on going meatless. It was great to have support of family and friends even if not everyone understands and encourages me new lifestyle choice.

For February, I need to concentrate on relieving stresses in my life. I mostly chose this because my birthday is at the end of the month, and I feel like there are things you need and things you do not need. I do not need stress interfering with my happiness. So I want to build habits that lessen my stress and make room for other good things in my life.

One thing I have noticed is that my stress gets in the way of going to the gym and being active physically. So while I focus on lessening stress, I do this to transition into March and focus on getting active and outdoors.

Game plan: meditate often, do yoga weekly, leave work stress at work EVERYDAY, get a full night of sleep, let go of the little things, wake up early and take your time in the morning, and take deep breaths when feeling anxious. Anyone have suggestions???

Here’s my plan for the year which will be updated and changed as needed:

January: Going Meatless

February: Reduce Stress

March: Get Active

April: Contribute to National Volunteer Month

May: Clean and Organize Home Spaces

June: Have Pride and Show Support

July: Shop Local / Small Business

August: Focus on Family

September: Other Language Development

October: Make your own Halloween Costume

November: Observe National Novel Writing Month – do some creative writing

December: Celebrate a Year of Growth

************

Lastly, remember to subscribe to my other blog Banned Books as I read through a list of banned books and discuss the cultural significance of our society’s attempt to remove and oppose texts in schools and libraries.

My first post discussed The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. I’ll next be discussing Perks of Being a Wallflower, Wide Sargasso Sea, A Clockwork Orange, and many other great books!

Banned Books Blog on Chicago Now
Check out my Banned Books Blog on Chicago Now
Leave a Reply

