New Kitchen Challenges


So far, Dan and I have done well with cutting meat from our eating. Neither of us has felt any temptations and I have been scouring the internet and the bookshelves of libraries for new recipes.

I’ve managed to make a lot of great vegetarian dishes in the past few years, but there are always things I’m afraid to try in the kitchen. The first one is baking my own bread. I have a fear of doing this as well as making my own pizza dough. There are just things about it I don’t understand. First of all, what is yeast? What does it mean to knead the dough or let it rise?

I’m sure I could short cut the process with a bread-maker, but the best things in life are not taking the shortcuts. What if I end up in a situation where I can save the world if I bake a loaf of bread from scratch without using a bread machine or pre-made dough.

Now I did manage to make my own pesto recently, and it turned out good. I started a new Pinterest Board to collect my vegetarian and vegan recipes. So expect some new pictures and updates as I try some new recipes and modify them. I can’t resist a recipe that I don’t modify or make changes to… I just can’t.

One recipe I found that I cannot wait to try out is Vegan Rice Cereal Marshmallow Bars.

I grew up loving those bars from Kellogg  but it does not fit into a diet that avoid processed foods. This will be a fun challenge to bake.

My next post will be a good one. My first How To Guide for making perfect Sunday morning pancakes!

Leave a Reply

