What I’m Cooking


So my first post of the year boasted that it was time to buckle down and throw meat from my diet. I wanted to show off some of the fun stuff we’ve made so far and all of it has been delicious.

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Quinoa Stuffed Pepper with Eggplant Chips and Sweet Potato Fries

This turned out great. We tried making the eggplant chips with the skins still on, but I felt tingle on my tongue and lips. I was reminded of my allergic reaction to kiwi. So I didn’t eat anymore of the eggplant but I enjoyed many sweet potatoes. Our first time cooking with Quinoa was exciting. We definitely plan to add more Quinoa dishes in the future.

Grilled Cheese (w/ Havarti Cheese) w/ Creamy Tomato Soup and croutons

Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese

Soups and I don’t really get along when in the kitchen. I’ve tried making soups before and they often don’t go so well. Either they lack taste or the veggies didn’t cook all the way through. So making creamy tomato soup, I decided to ignore recipes and use my instincts.

I’m so happy it actually turned out edible. We used a soup base from Trader Joe’s: Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup and chopped 6 six vine tomatoes and a few garlic gloves. I threw in some spices and mashed cauliflower (to add some creamy texture).

If I made this again, I might leave out the cauliflower and simmer for less time. But the grilled cheese turned out perfect and we made the croutons ourselves. We had some Italian bread that was going bad soon. So I chopped it and broiled it with some garlic and voila!

Blueberry Banana Pancakes

Blueberry/Banana Multi-Grain Pancakes

These pancakes were so delicious that I decided to write a whole separate post “How to Perfect your Pancakes”. These were cooked with chopped blueberries and topped with sliced bananas and organic maple syrup. I used multi-grain pancake mix from Trader Joe’s, and I don’t think Dan and I said a word while we were eating. I recall grunts of approval and happiness from Dan.

If you want the recipe let me know! If you have any tricks to perfecting soups, please share them! Look forward to my next post about my Pancake Perfection!!!

Leave a Reply

