Welcome 2013, the year of veggies


2012 has brought many great things! My first ever nephew, completion of my Masters Degree, and even a brand new car. How exciting!

One new development is my brother’s decision to go vegan. I completely supported and encouraged this lifestyle. I know how hard it is to eat healthy and veggies when you were raised on tv dinners and frozen pizzas. So I admire and support his decision.

Christmas at my moms, I made sure we had vegan pancakes with yummy banana. Then that same weekend, Dan and I cooked some delicious vegan meals. Now, we aren’t very good cooks but rarely do we rely on recipes, so our meals are a bit of hit or miss. We made Stuffed Green Peppers with lentils, mushrooms, and tomato sauce with a side of rice and eggplant chips. I was so happy that they both liked the food we made and Shawn really appreciated the new meals and ideas.

Now, Dan and I have been moving towards cutting meat out of our diet little by little. So I posed a new idea for our weekend trip to Trader Joe’s. I said, “Let’s buy a ton of veggies without a meal plan and see what cool stuff we can make all week”.

20121230_161138

For some reason, Dan supports my crazy ideas. We usually plan our meals and only buy what we need. But I realize you can’t plan for every meal and every day… sometimes you need to change things up.

In this initial post, I want to share all of our ingredients. As we make our meals, I’ll take pictures and share them sometime next week. Here is our ingredients list for the week:

Sweet potatoes, cantaloupe, veggie broth, coffee, marinara sauce, red-vine tomatoes, 1 bag of spinach, 1 bag of mixed green, white button mushrooms, bananas, 2 green peppers, 1 yellow pepper, 1 orange pepper, sugar snap peas, eggplant, cucumber, zuchini, 1 bag of apples, cage-free eggs (100% vegetarian fed) and teeny tiny potatoes (I’ve never bought these before, Dan found them and fell in love with them).

I hope to have lots of fun recipes and ideas to share in the following weeks. We are already thinking about a vegetable soup, stuffed eggplant, and maybe more stuffed peppers.

One thought on “Welcome 2013, the year of veggies

Leave a Reply

