Time flies when you’re really busy


I wish I could say it’s been so fun that I’ve neglected my blog. But I’ve been really crazy busy. My thesis is at a full draft and on the second round of revisions. I also started a new job about a month ago. This adds to the busy level because it’s been more stressful of a transition than I estimated.

So far, I love the new position even though I feel like they expect a lot from me. It’s more of a marketing position than I intended, but the marketing is geared toward education. I still plan to apply to teach community colleges but may only do that at night.

There are a few other awesome things I want to do post graduation.

1) get back on a healthy track

I hate to admit such things, but I’ve taken an extended break from my previous focus on getting healthy in so many ways. For the record, I didn’t take up heroin. But stress from the new job and the final stages of my thesis have put me on this new diet called I Need Ice Cream Right Now.

Though I know better than to relieve my stress with food, it still happens. Life is never a straight and well-defined path, and ice cream just happens to be that shortcut that turns out to take way longer.

2) Hitting up the gym

This is a must. It relieves stress, increases metabolism, and helps me sleep at night. But time constraints happen and I had to prioritize my Masters Degree for a short period of time. I always knew that it would happen with the Fall Semester, but  I have to focus on not allowing that break to be longer than is needed.

3) Have Some Fun

To be fair, I never stop having fun. Even when stress is on me, I crack a few jokes and laugh until I cannot breath. It happens more than I should admit. But I need to start doing fun stuff like bowling or board games with friends and family.

Speaking of family, I have a niece or nephew on their way into this world. I don’t have much to prepare for… not to the extent that Shawn and Diane do at least. But I mentally need to take aside more time to spend with them. I’d like to be a big part of their lives… I’m going to be that awesome Aunt that teaches him or her fun pranks and so forth.

4) Catch Up on my Reading

Am I crazy? You can be honest right now and tell me what you think. I know most people don’t see reading as relaxing or fun, but I have a stack of books I’ve wanted to read for years. I think I’m going to make a habit of going to the gym every Sunday and walking on a treadmill and reading a book.

5) Get Crafty

I really would like to some day have my own home. With that, I don’t want to pay corporations to make it feel like home. I never dreamed I could cook or bake, and I’ve already become quite amazing at whipping stuff together (though never perfect). So now would be the time to try some new things: sewing, crafting, organizing, and really get creative.

In fact, I blame pinterest for this interest. I keep finding neat things I want to try! But let me fully disclose… I’ve never knitted, sewed, and done more than think about making things on my own. So any future post boasting about this ugly scarf I knitted is an accomplishment regardless of how crappy it looks!

6) Meditation

I know that my occasional meditations aren’t very effective. I haven’t mastered the exact art of meditating or making a habit of it. But I need to dedicate more time per week towards it. Meditation 1 a week, then 2 a week, then 0 times for 3 weeks isn’t exactly habit-building. So putting more time and effort into this would be great!

7) Give Back

Isn’t 7 the most magical number? According to the Wizarding World, there is something special about the number 7. So I wanted to make this one meaningful. I chose to put more effort into giving back. Writing this thesis about Harry Potter was truly an amazing experience, and I got to learn about Rowling’s amazing message for the world. The number 1 thing I’ve learned from Rowling is that we all have the capacity to make the world better even in the smallest ways.

Rowling never wanted to be famous or rich. She only wanted to write books and never thought it could change the world. Reading about the charities Rowling has maintained is inspirational. I may not have money to give, but I do have compassion and time (well I will soon enough). It’s time to finally volunteer and do something rewarding that benefits other people.

-So that’s my list of things to focus on post Thesis and Graduation. Once my thesis is filed on November 1st, I only have to sit for an Oral Defense of my paper and then walk across the stage (expect a strut or dance). 

~Col

One thought on “Time flies when you’re really busy

Leave a Reply

