Col’s Golden Birthday


I have no idea why but I have always looked forward to my golden birthday. I love the number 27 and cake. So take a day where I turn 27 on the 27th and get to eat cake, and I AM THERE!

Even from a young age, I loved cake and celebrating birthdays. This year, it feels like the celebrations are all over with already. I got an awesome gift from Danny Boy–the Polar FT7 Heart Rate Monitor that I’ve been reading reviews about for a few months and secretly longing to splurge and buy.

Saturday night, we went to Chuck’s which is my favorite BBQ restaurant that also happens to carry a stellar beer list. Only complaint was that I barely got a table reserved for 16 people (the Hawks lost) and we still had to steal chairs to fit everyone at my table.

This year was definitely the best celebration in the last decade. Just to be fair and name the awesome people in attendance: Danny Boy (of course), Stephanie, JD, Stina, Nik, Jenny (and a friend), Terri, Matt, Shawn, Diane, Justin, Maggie, Ed, Mandy, Luz, Bob, Dan, and a friend of Terri’s also joined the fun. It was so much fun!

Now I don’t mean to brag, but I did get an awesome balloon. After Danny Boy threatened to pop it, I wouldn’t let it out of my sight. So yes, my birthday ended with me going in the bathroom with a balloon in tote, and it isn’t all that easy to pee and hold a balloon.

The next day, my mom had a birthday dinner/lunch. I’m not sure which to call it. It was turkey, potatoes, corn casserole, broccoli, sweet potato, biscuits, and millions of other sides. But it was at 1pm. So it was a birthdaylunchthanksgiving (patent pending). We showed Grandma and Grandpa how to play Xbox kinect and then Diane taught Dan and I to play Pandemic.

So we may have allowed a horrible disease to spread and kill the world, but we were able to cure it the second time we played and I might have to go buy the game because it was a blast to play.

Now that today is my actual birthday, what will I do? Absolutely nothing.

I have to be up early (making Biscuits N Gravy in the AM) and I have studying, gym time, and making dinner.

I feel old and now that my golden birthday is done with, what to look forward to in t he upcoming years?

Please reserve your comments and references to those other big adult things that I’m not ready to do. I do not wish to wear an expensive white dress or buy tiny little clothing outfits. I guess I have my Master’s Degree to be excited about and some sort of career to follow.

Well I hope everyone has a good birthday this year too! Maybe next year I will finally fulfill my wish to be in New Orleans for my Birthday and see Mardi Gras (though my hip hurts thinking about dealing with the crowds).

Leave a Reply

